FAQ

The non-profit organization, Développement aéroport Saint-Hubert–Longueuil (DASH-L) owns the airport entirely and exclusively. It was transferred to this organization by Transport Canada (TC) on September 1, 2004.

DASH-L and its employees manage the airport.

Like all airports in Canada, the airport is open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Scheduled regional passenger flights, flight training for future pilots, charter flights (companies, sports teams, musical groups, etc.), emergency medical flights, civil security, customs and catering.

The airport has six runways.

The runways are designated according to compass orientations. Runways in one direction are the reciprocals of those in the other direction, i.e. +180°. 06 left (06L) and 06 right (06R) face 060˚ (north-east), while 24 left (24L) and 24 right (24R) face 240˚ (south-west), i.e. the other end of the 06 runways.

For physical (and safety) reasons, aircraft take off and land into the wind. The air traffic control unit, such as NAV CANADA in the control tower, determines the active runway, depending on the wind or circumstances.

The main factor is the wind. Aircraft take off and land into the wind. We invite you to consult pages 5 to 7 of our Soundscape Policy document on our website:

https://cyhu.ca/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Politique-du-climat-sonore-YHU-finale.pdf

Both refer to the same airport in St-Hubert. YHU is the three-letter acronym assigned by the International Air Transport Association (IATA), and CYHU is the acronym of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), a United Nations agency based in Montreal.

An air movement is a take-off or a landing. A plane that takes off is a movement; one that lands is another movement. If the same plane takes off and later comes back to land, this counts as two air movements.

The average varies according to many parameters. However, before COVID, the average was about 400 daily air movements.

Yes, some days are busier depending on the season, weather or operational needs.

The Aeronautics Act (exclusive federal purview), from which the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) main document is derived as well as other regulations such as those regarding airport zoning. All are under exclusive federal purview.

From a physical point of view, the difference lies in the number of seats, power, number and type of engines. From the aviation activity regulation point of view, there is no difference apart from the type of operation in progress (aerial work, taxi, charter, scheduled transport, training, etc.).

The airport can accommodate aircraft with a wingspan of up to 36m that can carry about 200 passengers.

According to the World Health Organisation, noise is any sound or set of sounds considered undesirable; unwanted sounds, those that are disturbing, or sounds whose intensity is likely to cause adverse health effects. Thus, sounds that are unpleasant, discordant or interfere with the reception of a desired sound become noise.

The city developed around the Saint-Hubert airport, the first civilian airport established in Canada in 1927.

Aircraft have two main sources of noise: engine noise and aerodynamic noise. The first is generated by the combustion of the engine, whether it is a turbine or piston engine. Where smaller aircraft are concerned, this noise can be minimized by adding silencers, as was done on training aircraft in 2016 at the Saint-Hubert Airport.

 

Both small and large aircraft also generate aerodynamic noise, which consists mainly of the noise of the propellers and turbines. Also, in the case of larger aircraft, the air comes into contact with a larger surface of the aircraft during take-off stages to create lift or slow the aircraft down with resistance on landing (flap extension).

Environmental noise is measured with a sound level meter and reported on a logarithmic scale, usually in A-weighted decibels (dBA). On this scale, 0 dBA is the threshold of human hearing, while 120 dBA is the threshold of pain. The human ear can detect sound changes of 3 dBA and an increase of 5-10 dBA is generally perceived as a noise twice as loud.

 

Noise can be measured instantaneously or over a set period, such as an hour or a day. An instantaneous measurement will simply be accompanied by dBA units (e.g., 70 dBA). A one-hour measurement will be noted as LAeq,1h (e.g., 55 dBA LAeq,1h) and a one-day measurement, LAeq,24h. Note that a measurement over a set period usually consists of higher and lower instantaneous measurements. For example, an LAeq,1h could have been calculated from instantaneous measurements ranging from 32 dBA to 75 dBA.

Here, it would be more appropriate to talk about the perception of noise because the temperature, time of day, winds or air density – especially when windows are open or people are outside – give a different impression of aircraft noise.

When necessary, it is measured by specialized firms that use the latest technology. There are no constant measurements like at Montreal—Trudeau Airport.

There are training aircraft, multi-engine aircraft, private jets of all sizes, medical evacuation aircraft and a few other airliners such as 737-800s and Airbus 319s or 220s. There are also Sûreté du Québec, Air Médic and Armed Forces helicopters. There is no helicopter training school at YHU.

In general, it would seem so, as engines are at full power at take-off whereas during landing they may be working at lower power, depending on the type of flight or aircraft.

 

It is always possible. Saint-Hubert airport has all the regulatory clearances for night flights, like many airports in Canada. However, there may be some restrictions, such as those related to training (touch-and-go maneuvers).

Yes, absolutely. And all the regulations are strictly followed and set out in the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs) documents; Canada is recognized worldwide for its safety standards.

The SAC was established in 2015; its mission is to “promote the exchange of information and provide a forum for discussion and consultation on all matters relating to the soundscape, and in particular, on acoustic criteria and noise mitigation procedures to improve the soundscape at the Airport.”

They are appointed by DASH-L. As of 2022, the SAC has at least three members representing citizens from neighbouring municipalities.

As is the case for all Canadian airports, Transport Canada (TC) regulates the airport’s activities. DASH-L and airport operators may apply certain business decisions as long as these decisions do not contravene or interfere with federal government’s purview.

For safety reasons, aircraft (pilots) are not free to fly anywhere they wish and must follow specific routes to and from the airport to avoid conflicts.

Air corridors are preferential routes used for safety purposes. These routes are decided by air traffic control (NAV CANADA) and TC and are reviewed regularly by users (Soundscape Advisory Committee).

“Operating and developing the airport and the airport area as a whole” (“Exploiter et développer l’aéroport et la zone aéroportuaire dans son ensemble”) For more information, visit this webpage: https://cyhu.ca/en/about-us/

The members of the Board of Directors are appointed by the:

City of Longueuil

CCIRS: Chambre de commerce et d’industrie de la rive-sud

AQTA: Association québécoise du transport aérien

COPA: Canadian Owners and Pilots Association

ATAC: Air Transport Association of Canada

They are listed on our website: https://cyhu.ca/conseil-dadministration/

YHU is the name of the airport; DASH-L is the entity that manages it.

The training, piloting and technical units are listed on the website: https://cyhu.ca/en/our-flight-schools/

A landing-controlled touchdown followed by a take-off.

Yes. For several years, the vast majority (95%) have been equipped with a silencer. The exceptions are the models for which there is no certification.

One (1) knot is one (1) nautical mile/hour. One (1) nautical mile is the distance equivalent to one (1) minute (1/60 degree) of latitude or 1,852m. One (1) knot is therefore equivalent to a speed of 1.852 km/h.

They are flying the inbound and outbound routes from the YHU area, as prescribed. Please see pages 5 to 7 of our Soundscape Policy document on our website:

https://cyhu.ca/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Politique-du-climat-sonore-YHU-finale.pdf

These are busy periods for schools or business aircraft. Some flights are also strictly limited to visual flights, which can only take place during fair weather.

Visual flights are restricted to the fairest days when visibility is good. Moreover, aircraft take off and land into the wind. Upwind, it may seem that there are more planes during take-offs; downwind (on landings), it may seem that there are fewer planes.

 

The French text for very difficult to read and decipher. The English is an adaptation of the text and must be validated.

In fact, statistics show a decline in traffic over the last ten years. There was a clear dip during the COVID pandemic, followed by a return to the average rate of about 300-400 daily air movements.

No. This term doesn’t exist in the regulations.

Nighttime operations are a sensitive issue for many airports around the world and in Canada. For the hundreds of aerodromes and airports across the country, it is up to the operators and airlines to limit their operations to respect the surrounding neighbourhoods.

 

At YHU, night flights are exceptional and limited to special situations. YHU takes a very cautious approach by encouraging mainly daytime flights, such as hosting low-cost carriers that offer daytime flights to serve their customers.

TC is the regulatory body that grants NC the management of air navigation across much of the country. Air movements and everything that happens in the skies over the YHU control zone are governed by the Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), and NC enforces them.

By visiting: 

https//yhu.ca/en/file-a-noise-report/

They are examined comprehensively, and if they are specific enough, corrective action can be taken to improve noise levels or the environment.

As many complaints as individuals wish to submit.

As far as possible, yes. If they’re specific enough to take corrective action or improve noise levels or the environment, certainly.

FAQ

L’aéroport appartient entièrement et exclusivement à un organisme sans but lucratif, Développement aéroport Saint-Hubert – Longueuil (DASH-L). Il a été cédé à cet organisme par Transports Canada (TC) le 1e septembre 2004.

DASH-L et ses employés gèrent l’aéroport.

Comme tous les aéroports au Canada, il est toujours ouvert, 24h par jour, 365jr par année.

Des vols réguliers de passagers vers les régions, de la formation au pilotage qui forme la relève nécessaire, des vols nolisés (entreprises, équipes sportives, groupes musicaux, etc.), des vols d’urgences médicales, de la sécurité civile, des douanes, de la restauration.

Les pistes sont désignées en fonction des orientations d’une boussole. Les pistes dans un sens sont les réciproques dans l’autre sens, autrement dit 180° de plus. 06 gauche (06L) et 06 droite (06R) sont orientées vers le 060˚ (nord-est), alors que la 24 gauche (24L) et 24 droite (24R) sont orientées vers le 240˚ (sud-ouest), soit l’autre bout des pistes 06.

Pour des raisons physiques (et de sécurité), les aéronefs décollent et atterrissent dans le vent. L’unité du contrôle aérien comme NAV CANADA dans la tour de contrôle, précise la piste active, en fonction du vent ou des circonstances.

Le principal facteur est le vent. Les avions décollent et atterrissent face au vent. Nous vous invitons à consulter notre document de la politique du climat sonore sur notre site web, aux pages 5 à 7. https://cyhu.ca/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Politique-du-climat-sonore-YHU-finale.pdf

Les deux désignent le même aéroport de Saint-Hubert. YHU est le sigle à 3 lettres de l’International Air Transport Association (IATA) et CYHU est celui de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), organisme des Nations-Unis basé à Montréal.

Un décollage ou un atterrissage. Un avion qui décolle est un mouvement, un qui atterrit aussi et si c’est le même avion qui décolle et plus tard revient pour atterrir, ça compte donc pour 2 mouvements.

La moyenne varie selon plusieurs paramètres mais disons qu’avant la COVID, la moyenne se situait autour de 400 mouvements quotidiens.

Oui, selon les saisons, la météo ou les besoins opérationnels.

La loi sur l’Aéronautique (exclusivité fédérale), de laquelle découle le principal document qui est le Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) et quelques autres règlements comme celui sur le zonage aéroportuaire. Tous sont d’exclusivité fédérale.

Au point de vue physique, généralement le nombre de sièges, la puissance, le nombre et le type de moteurs. Au point de vue de la loi aérienne, rien, mis à part le type d’opération en cours (travail aérien, taxi, nolisement, transport régulier, formation, etc.)

L’aéroport peut accueillir des avions jusqu’à 36m d’envergure d’ailes, pour des avions permettant environ 200 passagers.

Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la santé, le bruit est tout son ou ensemble de sons jugés indésirables; les sons non désirés, ceux qui dérangent, ou les sons dont le niveau (puissance) est susceptible de causer des effets nocifs sur la santé. Ainsi, les sons désagréables, discordants ou qui interfèrent avec la réception d’un son désiré deviennent du bruit.

La ville qui s’est plutôt développée autour de l’aéroport de Saint-Hubert, qui est le premier aéroport civil du Canada, y étant là depuis 1927.

Les aéronefs ont principalement deux sources de bruit : celui du moteur et celui de l’aérodynamique. Le premier est généré par la combustion du moteur, que ce soit pour les moteurs à turbine ou à piston. Pour les plus petits avions, ce bruit peut être minimisé par l’ajout de silencieux, comme cela a été fait en 2016 à Saint-Hubert sur les avions d’entraînement.

 

Les plus petits et les plus gros aéronefs génèrent aussi du bruit aérodynamique. Il y a principalement le bruit des hélices, des turbines, mais aussi, dans le cas des plus gros aéronefs, l’air qui entre en contact avec une plus grande surface de l’avion pour les étapes de décollage pour créer de la portance, ou pour ralentir l’avion avec de la résistance à l’atterrissage (sortie de volets)

Le bruit environnemental se mesure au moyen d’un sonomètre et se rapporte sur une échelle logarithmique, généralement en décibels pondérés A (dBA). Sur cette échelle, 0 dBA correspond au seuil de perception de l’audition humaine, alors qu’un niveau de 120 dBA équivaut au seuil de la douleur. L’oreille humaine peut détecter des changements sonores de 3 dBA et une augmentation de 5 à 10 dBA est généralement perçue comme un bruit étant deux fois plus fort.

 

On peut mesurer le bruit de façon instantanée, ou encore sur une période de temps, comme une heure ou une journée. Une mesure instantanée sera simplement accompagnée des unités dBA (ex. : 70 dBA). Une mesure sur une heure sera accompagnée de LAeq,1h (ex. : 55 dBA LAeq,1h) et une journée LAeq,24h. Notons qu’une mesure sur une période est généralement composée de mesures instantanées plus élevées et moins élevées. Par exemple un LAeq,1h pourrait avoir été calculé à partir de mesures instantanées variant de 32 dBA à 75 dBA.

Il faut plutôt parler de perception de bruit, car La température, l’heure de la journée, les vents ou la densité de l’air, surtout lorsque les fenêtres sont ouvertes ou nous sommes à l’extérieur, donnent une autre impression de bruit des aéronefs.

Lorsque nécessaire, à l’aide de des services de firmes spécialisées qui utilisent les dernières technologies. Il n’y a pas des mesures constantes comme à Montréal-Trudeau.

On y retrouve des appareils de formation, des avions multi-moteurs, des jets privés de toutes tailles, des avions d’évacuations médicales et quelques autres avions de ligne comme des 737-800 et des Airbus 319 ou 220. Il y a aussi les hélicoptères de la Sûreté du Québec, de Air Médic  et des forces armées. Il n’y a aucune école de formation hélicoptère à YHU.

En général on pourrait penser que oui, car c’est au décollage que les moteurs sont à pleine puissance alors qu’à l’atterrissage ils peuvent être moindre, selon le type de vol ou d’appareil.

Toujours. L’aéroport de Saint-Hubert possède tous les éléments réglementaires pour les vols de nuit, comme beaucoup d’aéroports au Canada. Par contre, il peut y avoir certaines restrictions, comme l’entraînement (posés-décollés).

Absolument, toutes strictement suivies et encadrées dans les documents reliés au Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) et qui font que le Canada est reconnu mondialement pour ses normes de sécurité.

Le CCCS a été créé en 2015 et sa mission est de « favoriser l’échange d’informations et de procurer un forum de discussion et de consultation sur toute question touchant le climat sonore, et plus particulièrement, sur les critères acoustiques et les procédures d’atténuation du bruit destinées à améliorer le climat sonore à l’Aéroport ».

C’est DASH-L qui les nomme. À compter de 2022 le CCCS comptera au moins 3 membres représentant les citoyens venant des municipalités avoisinantes.

Comme pour partout au Canada, c’est Transports Canada (TC) qui règlemente les aéroports. DASH-L et les opérateurs d’aéroports peuvent appliquer certaines décisions d’affaires, tant qu’elles ne contreviennent ou n’entrave pas la prépondérance fédérale.

Pour des raisons de sécurité, les avions (pilotes) ne sont pas libres d’aller où n’importe où et doivent suivre des routes particulières pour arriver ou partir de l’aéroport, afin d’éviter des conflits.

Les « corridors » sont des routes préférentielles pour des besoins de sécurité. Ces routes sont décidées par le contrôle aérien (NAV CANADA), TC et revues régulièrement par les utilisateurs (Comité consultatif sur le climat sonore).

« Exploiter et de développer l’aéroport et la zone aéroportuaire dans son ensemble »  Les détails se trouvent sur le site web, ici : https://cyhu.ca/a-propos/

Les membres du conseil d’administration sont nommés par :

Ville de Longueuil;

CCIRS: Chambre de commerce et d’industrie de la rive-sud;

AQTA : Association québécoise du transport aérien;

COPA : Canadian owners and pilots association;

ATAC:  Air transport association of Canada;

Ils sont répertoriés sur notre site web, https://cyhu.ca/conseil-dadministration/

YHU est le nom de l’aéroport, DASH-L est l’entité qui le gère.

Les unités de formation, pilotage et technique, se trouvent ici sur le site web : https://cyhu.ca/nos-ecoles-de-pilotage/

Un atterrissage – toucher au sol contrôlé, puis remise des gaz pour redécoller.

Oui, pour la très grande majorité (95%) depuis plusieurs années. Les exceptions sont les modèles pour lesquels il n’y a pas de certification.

1 nœud est 1 mille nautique/heure. 1 mille nautique étant la distance d’une minute (1/60 degré) de latitude ou 1 852m. Un (1) nœud équivaut donc à une vitesse de 1,852 km/h.

Ce sont les routes d’arrivées ou de sorties de la zone de YHU, telles que prescrites. Nous vous invitons à consulter notre document de la politique du climat sonore sur notre site web, aux pages 5 à 7. https://cyhu.ca/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Politique-du-climat-sonore-YHU-finale.pdf

Ce sont des heures d’affluence pour les écoles ou les avions d’affaires. Certains vols sont aussi strictement limités à la vue, n’ayant lieu que lors de période de beau temps.

Les vols à vue sont limités selon la visibilité, ce qui les restreint aux plus belles journées où la visibilité le permet. De plus, les avions décollent et atterrissent face au vent. Alors selon ce dernier, on peut « percevoir » plus d’avions à cause du bruit au décollage face au vent, que les jours où c’est le trajet inverse et que ce sont des atterrissages.

Les statistiques montrent plutôt une baisse de trafic au cours des dix dernières années, un creux évident durant la COVID et un retour vers ce qui serait stable autour d’entre 300 et 400 mouvements quotidiens.

Non, ce terme n’existe pas dans la réglementation

Les opérations nocturnes sont un point sensible pour bien des aéroports de par le monde et au Canada. Pour les centaines d’aérodromes et aéroports au pays, il en revient aux opérateurs et lignes aériennes de limiter leurs opérations en respect du voisinage.

 

À YHU, les vols de nuit sont des exceptions pour des situations particulières. YHU prend une approche des plus prudentes en encourageant principalement les vols de jour, comme accueillir les transporteurs à bas coûts qui offrent des vols de jour pour desservir leur clientèle.

TC est l’organisme de règlementation qui octroie à NC la gestion de la navigation aérienne à peu près partout au pays. Les mouvements aériens et tout ce qui se passe dans le ciel de la zone de contrôle de YHU est encadré par le Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC) et NC le fait appliquer.

Elles sont regardées dans leur ensemble et autant que possible, oui, si elles sont assez précises pour pouvoir prendre une action corrective ou contribuer à améliorer le climat sonore ou l’environnement, certainement.

Autant que les gens veulent.

Autant que possible oui, si elles sont assez précises pour pouvoir prendre une action corrective ou contribuer à améliorer le climat sonore ou l’environnement, certainement.